Smells Like Childhood: The Books That Shaped Me

I have been reading for as long as I can remember. Here are just some of the books I enjoyed as a child. I consider these titles highly influential on my love of both reading and writing.

ImageThe Baby-sitter’s Club Series

 I read all of them. Collected all of them up to #100, including Super Specials and mysteries. I probably read these way too far into my teens years. Absolutely OBSESSED.

ImageThe Goosebumps series

 I also read a ton of these. I have no idea why, since I didn’t find them scary at all. I just laughed at them. 😉 Eventually, I graduated to the more “adult” Christopher Pike books.

ImageThe Little House on the Prairie series

 I read all of them, AND I watched the TV show!

ImageA Wrinkle in Time

 This was the first book I ever read that made me want to become a writer. I got so wrapped up in this made-up world and wished that I could write books like that. I am still hoping to publish my own equivalent to this book someday!

ImageThe Giver

This is another book that just blew my young mind to pieces. I still love it. It’s one of the few books that I can read over and over again, and I was so happy I got to teach it while I was student teaching!

ImageWhere the Sidewalk Ends

This book was probably my first introduction to poetry. I was also very fortunate to get to use one of Shel Silverstein’s poems during my student teaching!

One thought on “Smells Like Childhood: The Books That Shaped Me

  1. What a great topic! This really made me think. The ones that shaped my childhood were Nancy Drew, The Hardy Boys, The Black Stallion, and the master of children’s books — Dr Seuss! (Yes, I’m way older than you…)

Leave a Reply

